Wrath of # 5

First of all I want to thank those of you who have written to encourage me to not let this one incident deter me from continuing on.  Because of you I’ve reconsidered the whole business of what I do here.  I love to cross stitch but I’m not very fast.  I like to look for patterns that are give-away’s because I figure that not all of us can afford to buy the wonderful but expensive charts and kits.

I’ve done some research on copyright and also what is called Fair Use of Online Images.  The article points out how images can help to tell a story that words alone can’t.  The article goes on to point out, “A classic example of fair use of an image to use online is product reviews. If you want to review a book, a new piece of technology, a food product or whatever widget, you’ll likely want to include a photo. But not some washed-out, overexposed, shadowy, laundry in the background kind of photo that you’d take.”

Another point in the article is listed under “5 Things to Think About Before Using Copyrighted Images”,”#5: Are you willing to risk your site being taken down, getting a cease and desist/bill/DMCA or being sued? The Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) provides very powerful options for a copyright owner to protect his or her works in the digital space. By hitting “publish,” you may be opening a can of worms.”

Since, as I see it, I need images to share a pattern that you might be interested in doing for yourself,  I’m caught in this fine line of only using my finished work images or risking the wrath of #5.

I am attaching the link to the article to which I have referred for those of you who want to be informed.  “Copyright Fair Use and How it Works for Online Images”

So, on that note I am transitioning what I want to share with you to my Pinterest account.  Pinterest has it’s own way of dealing with copyright issues that are very reasonable.

Thank you for your loyal support.

Faye

One thought on “Wrath of # 5

  1. Wow sis, sorry to read that you’ve had an issue that has forced some changes. I know you’ve enjoyed sharing your love of cross stitch via your blog.

Leave a Reply

